3.110,82 t
CO2 savings of
Torque Marine Systems

compared to conventional systems

Torque Marine IPS Innovative Propulsion Systeme GmbH & Co. KG

A great success: With torque drive from Kiel to Glückstadt

PRESS RELEASE | June 28th, 2010

A great success: With torque drive from Kiel to Glückstadt

After a six-month modification and test phase the moment has come. On Wednesday, 2nd June at 3.10 pm it is “Cast off!” for the GMS ENOK for the first test run with the prototype of the High TORQUE Power Drive (HTP)™. Since spring 2009, the ENOK is owned by TORQUE Marine and was used as freighter Europe-wide.

The ordinary powered vessel build in 1955 had been, amongst other things, a push boat in the Neckar-/Main-/Donau area. Some basic data about the ENOK: Length 85 m, width 9.5 m, draft 2.5 m, tonnage 1505 t.

2nd June 2010: Starting the journey in Kiel


So today it’s Kiel. Blue skies and sunshine when leaving – and not only the weather is great. The two-shafts-TORQUE drive runs smoothly right from the start. We have extensive tests and adjustment work to do. We are testing our new drive system in the Kieler Förde – everything progresses according to plan.

Here are some details from the engine room:

Starboard shaft power train 2 x 230 kWe


View on the starboard drive from the engine room


Cooling water and fuel inlet/outlet, integrated into the aggregate


The generators work as planned, too:

Aggregate Control drive + on-board diesel 1, 2, 3 and 4


Generator 3 + 4




Starboard + port side shafts with about 220 rpm and 160 kWe each on the propeller


Best conditions for our trip on June the 12th across the Nord-Ostsee-Canal from Kiel via Brunsbüttel to Glückstadt at the Elbe river. That is how it should stay: The drive- and maneuvering characteristics of the ENOK are excellent. Trouble-free and according to plan, our 85 meter ship covers kilometer after kilometer. The pilot allows 18 km/h – this is fun!



12th June, 8.40 am: The ENOK in the small lock, Kiel


18 km/h in the Nord-Ostsee-Canal




Project manager Martin Hofele enjoys the trip




The ENOK in the Brunsbüttel lock


We challenge the High TORQUE Power Drive (HTP)™: With the generators 2, 3 and 4 on line (DC intermediate circuit) and at 260 rpm per shaft the ENOK makes 20 km/h with the flow.


We tests alarms, crash maneuvers and stopping times from full speed ahead (260 rpm) to propeller zero. The stopping times, the reversing times and the possibilities to actuate the propeller at full speed with revs of about 20 rpm as lowest rev enable completely new handling characteristics.

The route of the ENOK: from Kiel via Brunsbüttel to Glückstadt.


When the ENOK arrives at the port of Glückstadt on June 12th at about 5 pm, we know that: The test run of about 150 kilometers was a full success. The TORQUE Marine team is more than satisfied. TORQUE Marine founder Claus D. Christophel: “I am happy and proud that we were able to realize such a project – at our own costs and in a relatively short realization phase of less than 18 months.”

The ENOK, the first vessel in Germany with a TORQUE drive, has successfully shown its functionality.


BackNext articlePrevious article

3.110,82 t
CO2 Einsparung des
Torque Marine Systems

gegenüber herkömmlichen Systemen

Torque Marine IPS Innovative Propulsion Systeme GmbH & Co. KG

Ein voller Erfolg: Mit Torque-Antrieb von Kiel nach Glückstadt

PRESSEMITTEILUNG | 28. Juni 2010

Ein voller Erfolg: Mit Torque-Antrieb von Kiel nach Glückstadt

Nach fast sechs Monaten Umbauphase und Erprobungszeit ist es soweit. Am Mittwoch, den 2. Juni um 15.10 heißt es für die GMS ENOK: Leinen los zur ersten Probefahrt mit dem Prototyp des High TORQUE Power Drive (HTP)™. Seit Frühjahr 2009 ist die ENOK im Besitz der TORQUE Marine und wurde seitdem europaweit als Frachtschiff eingesetzt.

Das Gütermotorschiff mit dem Baujahr 1955 war zuvor unter anderem als Schubschiff für den Neckar-/Main-/Donau-Bereich im Einsatz. Ein paar Eckdaten zur ENOK: Länge 85 m, Breite 9,5 m, Tiefgang 2,5 m, Tonnage 1505 t.

2. Juni 2010: Ablegen in Kiel


Heute also Kiel. Blauer Himmel und schönster Sonnenschein beim Ablegen – und nicht nur das Wetter ist gut. Der Zwei-Wellen-TORQUE-Antrieb läuft auf Anhieb hervorragend. Es stehen umfangreiche Tests und Einstallarbeiten an. Wir erproben unser neues Antriebssystem auf der Kieler Förde – alles läuft nach Plan.

Hier ein paar Details aus dem Maschinenraum:

Stbd. Welle Antriebsstrang 2 x 230 kWe


Blick auf den Stbd. Antrieb vom Maschinenraum


Kühlwasser und Brennstoff Eintritt/Austritt, integriert im Aggregat


Und auch die Generatoren verhalten sich plangemäß:

Aggregate Control Fahr + Bordnetzdiesel 1,2,3 und 4


Generator 3 + 4




Bb + Stbd. Wellen mit ca. 220 rpm und je 160 kWe am Propeller


Beste Voraussetzungen für unsere Fahrt am 12. Juni durch den Nord-Ostsee-Kanal von Kiel über Brunsbüttel nach Glückstadt an der Elbe. Und so soll es bleiben: Die Fahr- und Manövrier-Eigenschaften der ENOK sind hervorragend. Störungsfrei und plangemäß legt unser 85-Meter-Schiff Kilometer für Kilometer zurück. Der Lotse erlaubt uns 18 km/h – so macht das Spaß!



12. Juni, 8.40 Uhr: Die ENOK in der kleinen Schleuse, Kiel


18 km/h im Nord-Ostsee-Kanal




Projektleiter Martin Hofele genießt die Fahrt




Die ENOK in der Brunsbütteler Seeschleuse


Wir fordern den High TORQUE Power Drive (HTP)™ heraus: Mit Generator 2, 3 und 4 am Netz (Gleichstrom Zwischenkreis) und bei 260 U/min pro Welle fährt die ENOK 20 km/h mit auflaufenden Wasser.


Wir testen die Alarme, fahren Crash-Manöver und prüfen die Stoppzeiten von voll Voraus (260 U/min) auf Propeller Null. Die Stoppzeiten, die Umsteuerzeiten sowie die Möglichkeiten die Propeller bei vollem Drehmoment mit Drehzahlen von ca. 20 U/min als kleinste Drehzahl zu fahren, ermöglichen vollkommen neue Fahreigenschaften.

Die Route der ENOK: von Kiel über Brunsbüttel nach Glückstadt.


Als die ENOK am 12. Juni gegen 17 Uhr in den Glückstädter Hafen einläuft, steht fest: Die rund 150 Kilometer lange Fahrt war ein voller Erfolg. Das TORQUE Marine-Team ist mehr als zufrieden. TORQUE Marine-Gründer Claus D. Christophel: “Ich empfinde Freude und Stolz, dass wir es geschafft haben, so ein Projekt – auf eigene Kosten und in einer sehr kurzer Umsetz-Phase von weniger als 18 Monaten – zu realisieren.”

Die ENOK, das weltweit erste Schiff mit TORQUE-Antrieb, hat seine Funktion erfolgreich unter Beweis gestellt.


ZurückWeitere ArtikelVorherige Artikel